The Big Buzz!

It’s going to be a picture heavy post guys, but let’s face it, that’s why you’re here this time!

So from start to finish, here we go!

IMG_3605 IMG_3847 IMG_3849 IMG_3851 IMG_3852 IMG_3853 IMG_3854 IMG_3855 IMG_3856 IMG_3857 IMG_3858 IMG_3860 IMG_3861 IMG_3863

From the top we have:

My hair about a month ago, and after my friend Jannine (with help from her mum and her 7 year-old Millie) braided it for me since I am absolutely no good at doing my own hair.

In the hot seat at Studio D in Ossett with Emma laughing nervously, and the first few cuts.

The last plaits and the back before the clippers came out! And then the rest are clipper progress shots.

What happened was I went in, and waited for my appointment looking like that (having also walked through a small part of the town too), and then it started. We had a nice chat about how much I’d raised and one of the customers in the back room for washing (and the girl who was about to wash her hair) came in to watch for a bit! There were lots of “I can’t believe you’re not nervous!” and “you’re so brave!” and then the scissors. A dozen or so snips and it was all off!

Then we went to a number one buzz as Emma didn’t want to scratch me with raw blades on the clippers. Once that was done, she said “it doesn’t quite look shaved shaved though does it?” so we went for raw blades after all. She said it was quite liberating actually as they never get to just chop a long do off, much less shave it. I was handed another £40 in cash which was incredibly generous, and then they wouldn’t let me pay for the cut either.

It feels funny! It almost feels as though I’ve got a very tight ponytail, so much so that I reached up earlier to run my hand down the tail, only to discover it was gone. This was WHILE I was writing about the chop on instagram! It’s also very rough and almost like velcro when putting a t-shirt on, but I’m sure it’ll be fine in a few days. There’s an element of sensory overload too, like my brain has ignored my scalp nerves for so long because they had nothing to say, and now they’re shouting “We’re naked!” and I can feel every millimetre, it’s very weird.

The boys reacted fine, including Henry, though he had a rather concerned look on his face at first. The big boys just spent about ten minutes saying “You look like a boy!” and cackling with laughter. Thanks boys.

I’ve had a huge amount of support from friends on facebook and so many donations, I’m blown away. The current total is…..

£1090!!

Thank you so much to everyone who donated, there are friends, relatives, friends and relatives of friends, and people I don’t know at all on the list and I am so grateful. On  Monday I’ll be sorting out posting the hair off to The Little Princess Trust too. I’m so pleased, and it’s not really me who’s done it, it’s all of you! so thank you, thank you, thank you! That amount is such an achievement, thank you for getting me there!

And just one more picture, the fantastic little boy who inspired me enough to get it done.

felix

Keep on kicking cancer’s butt Felix xxx

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Big Buzz!

  1. Pingback: One year on | Undomesticaited

Leave a Reply

